• I have a new laptop (YAY!!) and it’s serviceable but not brilliant (BOOO!!!) but will allow me to hopefully blog again (YAY?)
  • I have purple and green hair… well the ends are purple and green.  I had wanted purple and blue but there were concerns as to how my hair would take the blue color and to avoid ending up with icky green from blue over my reddish-gold hair I opted for a turquoise/mermaid green.  I like it…. a lot and J loves it.
  • I have not been riding much.  The winter weather and personal confidence issues have kept me from the saddle.  I would like to mostly blame the weather, but that would be a blatant lie.
  • J and B have become those cyclists.  You know the ones in the insanely tight, slightly embarrassing shorts that speed along the side roads at greater than 15 mph.  Their addiction has trumped mine and now Saturdays are spent gearing up for their group rides instead of saddling up.
  • I have had 15+ years of having my horse addiction at the forefront of my family’s free time, so I am trying to be graceful about giving up my rides.
  • I succeed most of the time.
  • But not all the time.
  • We are looking at letting B ride with a local cycling club… research still ongoing and any input greatly appreciated.  B is a small (tiny) 10 year old but with all the tenacity of Genghis Khan so there’s a balance of allowing him the freedom to go do the thing, but with enough guidance to keep him from (seriously) damaging his body.
  • X does not have any aspirations for anything physically demanding.  Not saying he is lazy, just that he’s great at conserving energy… and holding down the couch… which I didn’t know was in danger of floating away… but I digress.
  • Seriously tho… X is an artist and as we know, art can’t be hurried or harried… it just is and so is X.
  • He’s got the mad the skills tho.
  • He’s also developed a keen interest in cooking… which has been a difficult undertaking.  M and I are very proficient cooks and work well in our independent spaces.  We don’t “help” each other directly, usually we are preparing completely separate dishes or different stages of a multi-step meal.  I learned by observation and self-lead learning (ie… back when cooking shows actually taught you technique). X is a “teach me” child and I’m like “watch” and he’s like “teach me!” and I’m like “WATCH ME DO THIS THING!!!” and he’s like watching the dog sleep and wandering why I’m now brandishing a chef’s knife and getting agitated. So I’ve left his cooking education to M… who has only kicked him out of the kitchen a few times.
  • It’s the age… pre-teens… so much drama.
  • Sophie is taking over the world.  Nothing new there.  She’s currently in love with (hang on let me check my phone)… Bumble Bee (yeah that’s a transformer), don’t judge.  In the scheme of things in the world I’d much prefer my ASD  daughter to pine over a fictional robot car than a real live human… in an hour or so she will have moved on to Leo (TMNT Leo if you were wondering).
  • Sophie is planning to dye her hair pink when she turns 40 and will be moving into a Hello Kitty themed house when she is 30… she’s got it all mapped out.  After a couple years of telling us this she finally decided that I could move in with her 🙂
  • I have been flirting with the idea of vlogging.  I haven’t actually managed to record anything yet but the planning continues.  I have a camera that will do, this laptop that will begrudgingly allow me to edit and a desire to do it…. and yet I have recorded nothing.
  • I really got into subscription boxes for a couple months.  I will be doing a review of the one that I have coming in the next few days, so be looking for that.  I am currently only getting two boxes and one of those won’t come until next month.  It may turn into a regular feature (and an excuse to blog more frequently).
  • I also really got into planners and travelers notebooks.  Kyle and I made several TN covers back around Thanksgiving and while I used my TN as a planner for a while, it just wasn’t working for me.  I use it almost exclusively for journal writing or brain dumps or art forays.  After a substantial amount of research I settled on an Hobonichi.  I ADORE my Hobonichi.  I ordered from the actual Japanese site and had the awesome experience of getting the big yellow bag in the mail 🙂  That was definitely a happy day!
  • I am not remotely artistic in my Hobonichi… I simply use it as a planner/schedule and it is perfect for me… Perfect paper and perfect layout!
  • My pen addiction is growing.  I still love my fountain pens but I’ve also taken a shine to many Japanese pens too.  I will need to do a “what’s in my pen case” blog at some point to introduce the insanity!
  • Fred (the cat) is quite disgruntled that I am disturbing his heated sleeping mat (the laptop) and has walked across the keyboard twice now.  I’m not amused Fred.
  • We are homeschooling demons this year!!  We are using the Build Your Library curriculum and it is as if it were written with our family exactly in mind!  Bolstering our BYL with Life of Fred math (LOVE IT) and will be adding in a cursive writing and possibly a Latin element in the next few weeks.
  • Yes we year round school.
  • No the children don’t hate it
  • Actually they are the ones that push to do school as they (like their parents) are avid learners and we often go off on in depth tangents during our history and science and literature studies.
  • Not math tho.
  • `Math is a beast.
  • Math had both boys in tears today because math was being all consistent and you know… literal.
  • I feel ya boys…. Math… not my thing… but hey I’m all up on my cardinality of sets and ummm…. communitive and non-communitive properties of obligate carnivores.
  • This is what happens when you are learning math from a fictional 5 year old… I love you Life of Fred books… you make Math fun!!
  • I have kept an air plant alive for like 2 months now.
  • I’ve also kept a jade plant alive for nearly a year!!  What is this?  A green thumb??? Nahhhhh!!
  • M and I have started craftiness again.  HGTV may have taken away Carol Duvall and Martha Stewart but we have discovered the craft dude at the flea market and we are good to go.
  • Copics 2 for $5… just let that sink in for a moment.
  • I’m not even upset about sharing his existence bc he has more stuff than I can buy… even tho we have tried.  Beads $1/strand!  Gaaaaahhhhhh
  • So yeah my supplies are restocked and we are go for creativity!!
  • YouTube is my new best friend.
  • I spend my evenings watching stamping tutorials and card making how-tos.  Or watercolor tips, or how to cook Korean foods ( I LOVE YOU MAANGCHI!!!) or lifestyle vlogs like Simon and Martina (I cried when she hugged the fridge goodbye!!)
  • I’ve discovered that there are some SAHM vlogs that are scary.  I watched one the other day that consisted of the vlogger (a very frumpled looking young mom) babbling incoherently for 5 mins about a neighbor that was odd and in between complaints she would catch a glimpse of herself in her camera and have to talk about how “on point” her make up was that day…  I made it 5 mins (fast forwarding) before I had to bail as it just was a hot mess going nowhere fast.
  • I also frequent Book-tube a great deal.  I don’t read many of the recommended books but I enjoy listening to people talk about books and authors.  I don’t think I could pull off that kind of vlogging…. I wouldn’t want to give away anything going on in the book so it would basically be me reading the synopsis and saying “yeah I liked it”  The End.
  • I’ve been gaming a little more often recently… Dark Souls 3 comes out in the next few months and I have it pre-ordered 🙂
  • I find it interesting to see how there are waves of people that hit DS2.  There’s a whole new group playing if for the first time now and it’s funny to run into them and experience their surprise as a monster pops out in an unexpected place or they are suddenly battling the Pursuer… for the 5th time.
  • And that’s about it for now… we are making Spring time farm plans that involve fencing and buying poultry and I’m hoping that as the weather warms and the days get longer I’ll find myself on the back of a horse again.  There will be pig updates and garden updates and a few other things that I’m planning so keep an eye out as I’m hoping to be updating more frequently again! 🙂

 

 

 

